“You bio-what?” – Who I am and what you can expect from this blog

Standard

hello-name-is-awesome

This is going to be the shortest intro blog post in the history of the entire universe.

Probably not but I’ll keep it brief.

My name is Jonny. I am a computer scientist and entrepreneur. In my early 20’s, I was a happy guy. I was going to a great school that I enjoyed attending, I had tons of friends, and I had a bright future ahead. My days were full of laughs and new experiences. For the most part, I had no complaints and life was good.

But something was missing. I wasn’t complete in the way that I would’ve liked. And it was because of one simple reason. I was physically unfit. I was overweight. Simply put – I was unhealthy.

I was aware of the problem but had no idea how to fix it. I tried many diets. No dice. I tried exercise. Ineffective. I tried to ignore it. I tried to forget about it. I even tried to blame genetics for my weight problems.

The situation worsened when I finally went to the doctor and we took a look under the hood. There were some real problems in my biology and I never realized it.

I needed to change this in order to feel whole as a person. This started an obsessive quest to optimize my health and fitness so that I could live a longer, even happier life.

5 years, dozens of books, tons of blood tests, and thousands of pills later – here I am. This blog is about my adventures in biohacking – the art and science of managing one’s biology using diet, drugs, exercise, and technology. I will post all of my experiments and their results, regardless if they worked or not :). It has been quite the journey with tons of ups and downs, and I want to share it all with you.

I will also post personal blog entries and other fun stuff like videos of me performing magic tricks, but this site will principally be used for biohacking. Feel free to ask me any questions and if I don’t know the answer, I will say so.

Leave a comment